Are you overpaying?
Comparison quotes are the cheapest way to save
*rates based on survey data – Spring 2017
Cheap Comparison Quotes Free and Customized
Cheapest Car Insurance in Utah
The Colorado Plateau, the Rocky Mountains and the Great Basin converge in Utah to make it one of the most beautifully diverse states the country. Arches National Park is filled with natural rock formations of every shape and size while the Deer Creek Reservoir, surrounded by snow-dusted hills, perfectly reflects the wide open Utah sky. A popular hideout for wild west outlaws, The Beehive State holds hidden attractions in every corner. Mountain biking in Moab, snowboarding in Beaver Mountain or floating on Lake Powell, the outdoor enthusiast will have a hard time making a choice in this Four Corners State . CheapCarInsurance.net is letting Utah drivers get out in nature by bringing all the necessary information on Utah car insurance together in one place. That way, Utahans can get up and out and on their way to the next destination in their amazing state.
Change is constant for a state like Utah. Seasons, weather, climates and winds seem to change as fast as the state s insurance laws and regulations. Because of that, here is a list of all the useful information needed to stay protected while driving in Utah.
Utah s Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance
- Vehicles driven in the state of Utah must be covered by Liability Insurance.
- Liability minimums in Utah:
- $25,000 covers an person injured or killed in an accident.
- $65,000 covers an accident where more than one person is injured or killed.
- $15,000 covers the property damage portion of the accident.
New Driver Licensing Requirements
- Utah residents who are at least 15 years old may apply for a Learner s Permit. The applicant must pass the 50 question knowledge test and vision screening to qualify for the permit. This permit allows the applicant (under 18) to have the following driving privileges:
- The applicant must drive 40 hours while supervised, 10 hours of which must be completed at night.
- The applicant may drive if a licensed parent/legal guardian or driving instructor is seated in the seat adjacent to the driver.
- The permit must be in the applicant s possession for at least 6 months if the applicant is 17 years old or younger.
- If the applicant turns 18 prior to the end of the 6-month holding period, he/she may apply for a driver license at that time.
- If the applicant is 18 when applying for the permit, the following guidelines apply:
- Must have a licensed driver who is age 21 or older in the seat adjacent to the driver.
- Must carry the permit at all times.
- Regular License. At age 16, if the applicant has completed all requirements for the permit phase, he/she may apply for a Regular Driver License.
- Vision Screening. Applicants with a visual acuity of at least 20/40 and a peripheral of at least 140 degrees with or without corrective lenses may obtain an unrestricted permit. Restrictions are available for those with differing results.
- Knowledge Test. Utah s Driver Handbook covers all the necessary topics that are included in the knowledge test. Three attempts may be made to pass; however, on the third failure, the applicant must pay the fee again.
- Road Test. The applicant will need to furnish the vehicle for the test, and the vehicle must be licensed, registered, insured and in good working order. The administrator will inspect the vehicle and evaluate the applicant s following skill areas:
- Driving posture
- Proper use of lanes
- Starting and stopping
- Grade and Parallel parking
- Traffic observation
- Steering coordination
- Attention at intersections.
- Fees. The following fees are due upon application submission:
- Learner Permit: $15
- Under 21 Driver License: $30
- Over 21 Driver License: $25
- BAC limit: .08 Drunk driving in Utah holds a variety of penalties, and Utah Law (§ 41-6a-502) provides the definition of DUI in the state. The following are the general penalties for a Utah DUI.
- First Offense:
- Jail: minimum 48 hours
- License suspension: 120 days
- Fine: minimum $700
- Ignition Interlock Device (IID): 18 months
- Second Offense:
- Jail: minimum 10 days
- License suspension: 2 years
- Fine: minimum $800
- IID: minimum 18 months
- Third Offense:
- Jail: minimum 60 days
- License suspension: 2 years
- Fine: minimum $1,500
- Alcohol and drug treatment program
- IID: minimum 18 months
- Refusals receive the following penalties:
- First Offense: 18 month license suspension
- Second or Third Offense: 3 year license suspension
- Felonies are mandatory for a fourth or subsequent offense(s).
Texting Driving Laws
Distraction.gov states that Utah has banned texting for every driver, and novice drivers may not use handheld or hands-free cell phone devices.
Utah has a variety of laws both old and new, and some are as unique as the state s history. For instance, it is illegal to both fish from a horse s back and to fish for whale. Women are not allowed to swear, one may not carry a violin in a paper bag while walking down the street and, when driving through Utah, remember that birds have the right of way on all state highways!
Best Cheap Car Insurance Quotes for Utah
Salt Lake County Car Insurance
Home to more than a million residents, Salt Lake County is Utah s most densely populated, encompassing the southeast shores of the Great Salt Lake, which is four times saltier than any of the world s oceans. The county seat and state capital is Salt Lake City, historically known as the crossroads of the west.
Salt Lake County is a popular destination for its ski resorts and many festivals. The city of Holladay is home to presidential hopeful Mitt Romney s 5,900-square-foot home. The Bingham Canyon, or Kennecott Copper Mine, is the world s largest open pit mine, located southwest of Salt Lake City and in production since 1906.