Anchorage Finance

May 17 2018

Long Term Care Calgary – Care Facilities in Calgary, hospice calgary.#Hospice #calgary

Long Term Care Calgary

Sometimes returning home after a hospital stay is not possible. To make the right decision for you it is important to understand the different types of care facilities in Calgary. There are six different types of facilities available, depending on your level of care needs.

Below is a brief description of each type of care facility. There are a lot of factors to consider when you are looking for your next home. Let an Aspen Care consultant provide some guidance and background information about making your best choice.

Independent living residences, also known as retirement communities, are for seniors who are generally in good health and do not need assistance or supervision for their daily activities. Seniors are free to leave and enter the residence as they wish. They live in single units are responsible for their own schedule and care. Many choose to take advantage of the amenities, activities and sense of community offered by the residence.

Assisted Living is a type of residence for seniors who may need help in managing certain basic daily living activities such as cooking, bathing, dressing themselves, doing laundry or taking medication. Seniors in an assisted living facility can maintain an active lifestyle, while their families members get peace of mind of knowing that caring, well-trained staff are only a few feet away should their family member need assistance. These facilities are not subsidized by AHS. Home care services can be added.

Lodges are often subsidized. They are an option for those who are experiencing health or mobility issues and require a minimal level of non-medical care. Residents are provided with meals as well as housekeeping, activities and recreational programs, with 24-hour non-medical staffing. Some facilities are rooms that are wheel-chair accessible.

  • LEVEL 3 (SL3)

There are two types of supportive living facilities funded by the provincial government: SL3 and SL4

SL3 living is provided in personal care homes. A health care aide is available 24 hours a day with a registered nurse on call. To qualify for this level of care, generally the individual must be independently mobile or a one-person transfer. They must be able to call for help using a call system, and they must not be at risk of elopement. Individuals must have access to their own transport, e.g. family members

SL4 is an excellent option for individuals with a wide range of needs, including adults with disabilities and seniors with complex and significant care needs. SL4 facilities have a licensed practical nurse and a health care aide on site 24 hours a day. Some sites have mechanical lifts, but others do not. Residents at SL4 facilities must have their own family physician and supply their own furniture and transportation. They must also meet the eligibility criteria through AADL. SL4D facilities are special facilities that are secured and are suitable for mild dementia patients.

Long-term Care Facilities (nursing homes and auxiliary hospitals )

Long-term care (LTC) facilities are designed for individuals with complex medical needs who require 24-hour onsite registered nurse assessment and/or treatment. In addition, professional nursing services may be provided by licensed practical nurses and there is 24 -hour onsite personal care and support provided by health care aides. All direct and consultative healthcare services are provided onsite. including physician visits.

The Personal Care Home Program was developed for adults and seniors with moderate care needs who require 24hr on site availability of personal care services, but not necessarily continuous access to professional nursing services. Personal care homes are staffed by a health care aid at all times. This individual provides help in personal care, medication assistance, health monitoring and liaison, and assistance with activities of daily living, including recreational activities. These homes are typically single-family dwellings where five to eight residents receive support services.

Written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *